Wolfgang Lackerschmid/Chet Baker: Quintet Sessions 1979 (Vinyl)


  • Limited Edition Hand Numbered Pressing (w/ Digital Download)
  • Free Shipping in USA

RELEASE DATE: January 8th, 2021


Wolfgang Lackerschmid – vibraphone
Chet Baker – trumpet, vocal (track 2)
Larry Coryell – guitar
Buster Williams – bass
Tony Williams – drums


Side A
1. Mr. Biko (9:07)
2. Balzwaltz (6:48
3. The Latin One (2:24)
4. Rue Gregoire Du Tour (rehearsal) (4:58)
Total Time: 22:17

Side B
1. Rue Gregoire Du Tour (6:31)
2. Here’s That Rainy Day (4:15)
3. Toku Do (6:30)
4. Balzwaltz (alternate) (5:19)
Total Time: 22:35


‘Quintet Sessions’ is the follow-up to Dot Time’s critically acclaimed re-release of Wolfgang Lackerschmid and Chet Baker’s Ballads For Two.  A continuation of Lackerschmid’s great adventure with one of the greatest trumpet players in the history of the art form, the album features the spirited duo of iconic trumpeter and vocalist Chet Baker and vibraphonist Wolfgang Lackerschmid alongside a stellar rhythm section made up of jazz luminaries Larry Coryell (guitar), Buster Williams (bass) and Tony Williams (drums).

The archival vaults have been reopened by Dot Time Records after the widespread success of Wolfgang Lackerschmid and Chet Baker’s Ballads For Two.  JazzTimes noted “Serenity permeates [Ballads For Two], a serenity born of internal logic that feels both welcome and foreign”.  Quintet Session offers a distinctly different lens through which to hear these fine musicians coalesce.  This material (two tracks of which have never been publicly released before), presented here in a Limited Edition, Hand-Numbered stunning Vinyl package, displays the stunning musicianship and compositional prowess of each of these five leaders of their instrument.