Categories: , ,

Evan Arntzen: Countermelody (Vinyl)


  • Limited Edition Hand Numbered Pressing (w/ Digital Download)
  • Free Shipping in USA

Digital Download

RELEASE DATE: July 9th, 2021


Evan Arntzen – reeds
John-Erik Kellso – trumpet
Mike Davis – trumpet
Charlie Halloran – trombone
Arnt Arntzen – guitar/banjo
Dalton Ridenhour – piano
Tal Ronen – bass
Mark McLean – drums

Special Guest: Catherine Russell – voice


Side A
1. Muskrat Ramble (5:14)
2. 18th Street Strut (3:52)
3. Georgia Cabin (3:44)
4. When Erastus Plays His Old Kazoo (4:36)
5. Solitarity (4:22)
Total Time: 21:48

Side B
1. If You Were Mine (4:04)
2. Put’ Em Down Blues (5:29)
3. Counter Intuitive (6:24)
4. Bu’s March (5:16)
Total Time: 21:13


Evan Arntzen, renowned multireedist, vocalist and bandleader, presents his third album as a bandleader, Countermelody. This uplifting new release is a celebration of the interplay, collective improvisation and soulful counterpoint that played such a big role in Black American Music emanating from New Orleans in the first half of the 20th century.  During a time when convening is all but impossible, Countermelody brings the gaiety of live music to the recorded realm.

Countermelody brings early-jazz-exuberance to an eager present in a release which author and Louis Armstrong Co-historian, Ricky Riccardi, calls “the very definition of timeless” in the album’s liner notes.  Arntzen’s Dot Time Records debut features many of his own astounding arrangements of early New Orleans and Chicago jazz compositions written by such luminaries as Kid Ory, Sidney Bechet and Bennie Moten. The release also features wonderfully innovative compositions by Arntzen, Benny Green and Kellso.

Recorded on October 2nd and 3rd, 2020, the group of stellar musicians featured on Countermelody gathered together to create music that will inspire listeners everywhere to get up, share joy and dance.